Gold Club SF Ownership Tree

Cal. ABC file 47-406226 · 650 Howard St, San Francisco · application, ABC-217 and ABC-208-A packets (2003, 2022) · ABC-256-LLC questionnaires for Gold Club SF, JRJ-SF and Frisco & Seattle Group, received 3/16/2022 · ABC license lookup 9/2/2026 · revised 9/18/2026

The 9/2/2026 version of this tree worked from a copy of the 2022 update in which every printed percentage was blacked out. A second production of the same three questionnaires shows them: JRJ-SF 65%, three seats of 33.33% inside JRJ-SF, and a 75/25 split inside Frisco & Seattle Group. It also shows a hand correction nobody had seen.

Prior licensee Licensee Member LLC People, from sworn ABC-208-A affidavits 2022 update filing 65%Printed on the 2022 questionnaire, certified by the signer [21.66%]Handwritten on ABC’s copy (not sworn) Redacted by ABC in the 2003 packet
License chain at 650 Howard

Boppers of San Francisco Inc

license 47-238618 · nightclub
  • Held 1/29/1990 – 3/15/1996
  • 35-day suspension (20 stayed), May 1995, on penal and health-and-safety code violations

Solid Gold Incorporated

license 47-302286
  • Held 3/15/1996 – 1/6/2004
  • President and sole listed stockholder: Elizabeth Ann Furnelli
  • Treasurer / CFO: John Anthony Basile
  • Suspension Reg. 02052702: 12/31/2002 – 1/19/2003 (six-foot rule, condition violation)
  • Sign-off signed 9/18 and 9/22/2003

2003 sale, per ABC-217 (10/15/2003)

  • Person-to-person transfer, Section 24071.2 (LLC)
  • Escrow: Heritage Bank of Commerce, San Jose, #161233
  • ABC license priced at $50,000; the rest of the investment is redacted; source of cash: “Shareholders”
  • Bookkeeper: Diana Webb, Consolidated Bookkeeping, 2341 Eastlake Ave E, Seattle
  • Landlord: 650 Howard L.P. · Bank accounts: “not operating yet”
Licensee

Gold Club SF LLC [100%]

license 47-406226 · Nevada LLC · manager Joseph H. Carouba
  • Filed in Nevada 9/2/2003 · California registration 9/18/2003 (hand-corrected on the 2022 form to “9/8/03 (CA)”) · operating agreement 9/2/2003
  • Application received by ABC 10/16/2003 · conditions signed 12/10/2003 · conditional approval 12/23/2003
  • License issued 1/6/2004 · HQ: BSC Management, 250 Columbus Ave, San Francisco
2022
  • Ownership update received by ABC 3/16/2022 · questionnaires signed 2/16 (Gold Club), 2/11 (JRJ-SF) and “2/1/20/20” (Frisco & Seattle) · attorney Dan Kramer, 350 Sansome St
  • Members as printed: JRJ-SF 65%, J&J 25%, RLF 10%, all effective 9/2/2003 — but the 25 and 10 are struck through and swapped by hand, initialed “JG,” while the notes beside the names keep [25%] and [10%]
  • HQ 250 Columbus Ave, Ste 207, (415) 203-1428 · articles not amended
Members of the licensee

JRJ-SF LLC 65% [65%]

Nevada · LLC-1 9/2/2003 (9/3 in the 2003 file) · OA 9/2/2003 · manager Carouba · HQ 250 Columbus Ave Ste 207
  • “J-R-J” fits the 2003 members’ initials: Joe, Roger, Jason (inferred, not stated)
  • Three seats of 33.33% each, printed on the 2022 questionnaire: Frisco & Seattle Group effective 12/31/2021; the Carouba trust and the Jason Mohney trust effective 9/2/2003
  • [21.66%] handwritten beside each seat: one third of 65%, the seat’s look-through share of Gold Club

J&J Entertainment Enterprises LLC 25% [25%]

Alaska · OA 8/27/2003 · filed 11/17/2003
  • Manager John A. Basile · 15 Wilcox St, Springfield, MA
  • Questionnaire received 12/12/2003 · attorney Henry C. Weatherby, Bloomfield, CT
  • On the 2022 Gold Club form the printed 25% is struck and 10% written in, initialed “JG”

RLF Ventures LLC 10% [10%]

Alaska · OA 8/27/2003 · filed 9/17/2003
  • Manager Richard L. Furnelli Sr. · Sycamore Knolls, South Hadley, MA
  • Questionnaire received 12/12/2003 · same attorney as J&J
  • On the 2022 Gold Club form the printed 10% is struck and 25% written in, initialed “JG”
People behind each seat · 2003 → 2022

Seat 1 · Carouba

2003 · Joseph H. Carouba, individually
  • Member effective 9/3/2003 · making a financial contribution
  • Affidavit 10/15/2003; born San Francisco
  • CEO, Dobake Inc., 9/1989 – 10/2002
  • Operating Manager, BSC Management, from 4/25/2001
  • Other ABC interests: SAW Entertainment, Chowder House, BT California
  • Hustler Club suspension Reg. 03054684, served 12/15 – 12/29/2003
2022 · Joseph H. Carouba Revocable Trust 33.33% [21.66%]
  • Trust dated 10/21/2009 · trustee Carouba · shown as a member “effective 09/02/2003,” six years before the trust’s date
  • Affidavit 2/1/2022 · Manager · labor/expertise only
  • “BSC consultant since 01/1997” — conflicts with the 2003 affidavit
  • CA licenses 133379, 321129, 406226, plus “numerous” in other states
  • Spouse Alexandra Lutnick (no spouse affidavit produced)
  • With its 75% of Frisco & Seattle (below), 37.9% of Gold Club on a look-through basis (inferred)

Seat 2 · Forbes

2003 · Roger Heath Forbes, individually
  • Member effective 9/3/2003 · making a financial contribution
  • Affidavit faxed 9/18/2003; born Seattle; self-employed consultant/investor
  • Married Anne Ja (Tanaka) Forbes 10/9/1999; her spouse affidavit 12/17/2003, no contribution
  • Licensed in Louisiana, Hawaii, California
  • 1977 arrest, Franklin Co., WA, “display of obscene movie” — set aside, jury misconduct
  • Notarized by Diana S. Webb — Gold Club’s bookkeeper
2022 · Frisco & Seattle Group LLC 33.33% [21.66%]*
  • Washington LLC · formed 11/18/2021 · manager Carouba · member of JRJ-SF effective 12/31/2021
  • HQ 1530 1st Ave S, Seattle · attorney Taro Kusunose
  • Form signed “2/1/20/20” (sic); Roger Forbes no longer listed
  • Members as printed: Carouba trust 75%, Eric Forbes trust 25%, both effective 11/18/2021 (below)

Seat 3 · Mohney

2003 · Jason C-H Mohney, individually
  • Member effective 9/3/2003 · signed Las Vegas 10/10/2003
  • Born Owosso, MI · ABC fingerprint date 4/16/1998
  • Other interests and employment: “see attached” — not produced
  • Unsigned draft faxed 10/10/2003 from Shindel Scheuer & Rock, marking “financial contribution”; contribution box blank on signed copy
2022 · Jason Mohney Revocable Trust 33.33% [21.66%]
  • No trust date or trustee given · shown as a member “effective 09/02/2003”
  • Affidavit 2/23/2022, notarized Wayne Co., MI · NV driver’s license
  • Officer: Secretary & Treasurer · labor/expertise only
  • President, Deja Vu Services Inc., Las Vegas, since 1/2015
  • CA licenses 133379, 321129, 406226 — same three as Carouba

Behind J&J · the Basiles

2003 · John Anthony Basile, member
  • CPA, John A. Basile CPA P.C., Springfield, MA, since 1988
  • Treasurer of the seller, Solid Gold Inc. (47-302286)
  • Disclosed Solid Gold suspension, 1/1 to ~1/21/2003
  • Labor/expertise only · signed 10/10/2003
2003 · Judith Ann Mary Basile, member
  • Teacher, Agawam Public Schools, since 1998; asst. manager, S+M Vendors Inc., since 1997
  • Married John Basile 6/15/1984 · labor/expertise only
  • Both affidavits faxed 9/11/2003 via “R L Biederman / Modern Bookkeeping,” 989 area code (Michigan)
2022 · no update filed or produced
  • Still listed as a member on the ABC lookup, 9/2026 · 25% or 10% of Gold Club depending on which hand on the 2022 form is right

Behind RLF · the Furnellis

2003 · Richard Louis Furnelli Sr., member
  • Retired · born Holyoke, MA · signed 10/10/2003, East Longmeadow
  • Other ABC interests “all in Massachusetts (see attached schedule)” — not produced
  • Answered Yes to arrests/convictions, “see attached schedule” — not produced
  • Labor/expertise only · faxed 9/11/2003 via Modern Bookkeeping (MI)
2003 · Ann E. (Glading) Furnelli, spouse
  • Married 9/16/1973 · affidavit 12/10/2003, South Hadley · no contribution
  • Swore she had never been an ABC licensee or officer
Matthew F. Furnelli, member
  • No affidavit in the production
2022 · no update filed or produced
  • Still listed as a member on the ABC lookup, 9/2026 · 10% or 25% of Gold Club depending on which hand on the 2022 form is right
Members of Frisco & Seattle Group (2022)
Joseph H. Carouba Revocable Trust 75% [10.5%]
  • Same trust as Seat 1, dated 10/21/2009 · member effective 11/18/2021
  • Carouba is on both sides of Frisco & Seattle: its manager and one of its two members
  • The handwritten [10.5%] does not follow from [21.66%]: three quarters of 21.66 is 16.25
Eric Randall Forbes Revocable Trust 25% [3.5%]
  • Trust dated 12/10/2021 · trustee Eric Forbes · shown as a member “effective 11/18/2021,” three weeks before the trust’s date
  • Affidavit 2/4/2022, San Francisco · Member · labor/expertise only
  • Born Evanston, IL · Washington driver’s license
  • Married Laura Elizabeth Forbes 8/29/2015 (no spouse affidavit produced)
  • President/CEO, Consolidated Bookkeeping & Management Services, Seattle, since 5/2010 — the firm that kept Gold Club’s books in 2003
  • Interests in “several” Oregon and Washington retail licenses
  • Relationship to Roger Forbes: not stated anywhere in the file
  • The handwritten [3.5%] likewise: a quarter of 21.66 is 5.42

Related licenses both Carouba and Mohney swear to (2022)

  • 133379 — Larry Flynt’s Hustler Club, 1031 Kearny St · S A W Entertainment Ltd · active since 8/12/1999 · officers Carouba (president) and Jason Mohney (secretary/treasurer) · stockholders per the S.A.W. ABC-243 of 2/7/2022: Carouba trust 58.33%, Jason Mohney trust 33.33%, Eric Forbes trust 8.33%
  • Condition on 133379: Harry V. Mohney “shall have no interest directly or indirectly in the ownership nor act as manager or consultant” and “shall not be employed in any capacity”
  • Discipline on 133379, Reg. 03054684: Rules 143.2, 143.3, 64.2(b)(1); 30 days (15 stayed), served 12/15 – 12/29/2003 — while the Gold Club application was pending
  • 321129 — The Penthouse Club & Steakhouse, 412 Broadway · Alternative Entertainment Inc · issued 6/3/1997 · officers Carouba, Eric Forbes, Samuel J. Conti · stockholder BT California LLC · canceled 3/27/2025
  • * [21.66%] is one third of 65%, so it reads as the seat’s look-through share of Gold Club rather than of JRJ-SF — an inference. The printed columns are visible in the production received 3/16/2022 and blacked out in the copy the 9/2/2026 version relied on.
  • Not in the file: Matthew Furnelli’s affidavit; the Mohney and Furnelli attachments; any 2022 forms for RLF or J&J; spouse affidavits for Lutnick and Laura Forbes.
One tree, two dates. Black headings are the 2003 licensing file; blue blocks are the February–March 2022 update. Every entity in the chain is managed by Joseph H. Carouba, who signed the Gold Club, JRJ-SF and Frisco & Seattle questionnaires in both years. Blue chips are percentages printed on the 2022 questionnaires; amber chips are handwritten on ABC’s copy.

Discrepancies and open threads

The J&J / RLF swap. The 2022 Gold Club questionnaire prints J&J at 25% and RLF at 10%, matching 2003. Someone struck both figures and wrote 10% and 25%, initialing each change “JG,” while the bracketed notes beside the names still read [25%] and [10%]. If the correction stands, the Furnellis’ RLF Ventures holds a quarter of the Gold Club and the Basiles’ J&J a tenth, the reverse of the 2003 filing. Nothing else in the file explains the change or says who JG is.

Look-through notes that don’t add up. [10.5%] and [3.5%] beside the two Frisco & Seattle members should be 16.25 and 5.42 if [21.66%] on the previous page is right. They would follow from a 14% share of Gold Club, which nothing in the file supports.

A member before it existed. The Eric Forbes Revocable Trust is dated 12/10/2021; the Frisco & Seattle questionnaire makes it a member effective 11/18/2021, the day the LLC was formed. The 2024 BT California filing repeats both dates.

Backdated trust seats. The JRJ-SF questionnaire shows the Carouba and Mohney trusts as members effective 9/2/2003. The Carouba trust is dated 10/21/2009, and in 2003 both seats were held individually. The effective date describes the seat, not the trust.

ABC saw the layering in 2003. A second conditional-license petition (12/10/2003) recites that ownership “ascends through multiple subsidiaries and/or individuals” and requires written notice within 30 days of any change at any tier. Frisco & Seattle became a JRJ-SF member effective 12/31/2021; the questionnaires were signed 2/1–2/16/2022 and reached ABC 3/16/2022, outside that window.

Who is Elizabeth Ann Furnelli? She signed the 2003 sale as president and sole stockholder of Solid Gold Inc. Richard Furnelli’s wife filed as “Ann E. Furnelli, née Glading” and swore she had never been an officer of a licensee. Same person, or two Ann Furnellis? The file doesn’t settle it; the 302286 file (the 1996 application) would.

Carouba’s BSC start date moved. 2003: joined BSC Management 4/25/2001 after running Dobake Inc. as CEO through 10/2002. 2022: BSC consultant since 01/1997.

The Michigan fax line. Furnelli’s and Basile’s 2003 affidavits reached ABC from “R L Biederman / Modern Bookkeeping” at a 989 (Owosso/Durand, MI) number. The Sixth Circuit’s 1991 opinion in United States v. Mohney says Harry Mohney created Modern Bookkeeping Services to centralize his companies’ books. If it is the same firm, the sellers’ paperwork ran through Harry Mohney’s back office.

Seattle bookkeeping is the Forbes side. Gold Club’s 2003 bookkeeper, Diana Webb of Consolidated Bookkeeping, also notarized Roger Forbes’s affidavit; Eric Forbes has run Consolidated Bookkeeping & Management Services since 2010. That is the documentary link between Roger and Eric. It is not a statement of kinship.

One phone number. (415) 203-1428 is the headquarters number on the Gold Club and JRJ-SF questionnaires (2022), on BT California’s and Frisco & Seattle’s (2024, with a Seattle street address), and Carouba’s officer line on the S.A.W. ABC-243 (2022).

Contribution boxes. In 2003 Carouba and Roger Forbes said they were putting in money; in 2022 every affiant checked “labor/expertise only,” the box that waives the ABC-208-B financial affidavit.

Two productions, two redaction patterns. The copy behind the 9/2/2026 version blacked out every printed percentage and left the handwritten ones; the copy received 3/16/2022 shows both. Neither copy’s redactions were consistent with the other’s.

Unverified

That Jason Mohney is Harry Mohney’s son (the file makes him president of Deja Vu Services, Inc. and puts a Harry Mohney exclusion on a license he co-owns, but never states the relationship); that Eric Forbes is Roger Forbes’s relative or successor; that “Modern Bookkeeping” on the fax header is the Mohney firm; who “JG” is and whether the J&J / RLF swap was ABC’s or the filer’s; and how Elizabeth Ann, Ann E., Richard L. and Matthew F. Furnelli are related.

Revision note · 9/18/2026

Rebuilt against the ABC-256-LLC questionnaires received 3/16/2022 (Gold Club SF LLC signed 2/16/2022, JRJ-SF LLC 2/11/2022, Frisco & Seattle Group LLC “2/1/20/20”). Changes: the printed percentages are added everywhere they were redacted before; the J&J / RLF hand correction and the Frisco & Seattle look-through notes are recorded; the JRJ-SF seats’ effective dates and the 75/25 Frisco & Seattle split are stated; the S.A.W. stockholding is taken from the S.A.W. ABC-243 of 2/7/2022; the 30-day-notice thread is completed with the now-visible dates. Everything else is carried over unchanged.